Website scouting

It’s been a long time since I wrote a post.  There’s just been so much going on with the holidays and all.  We are an official business now, Hallelujah!  We have a tax id, so now I can go to the jewelry show anytime I want, whoop whoop!

I have been on the hunt to find the perfect person to fulfill all of our website needs.  I have been scouring the web to find the right questions to ask during our consultations.  I have even tinkered around with designing the website myself using a variety of hosting/template sites.

10 questions you should ask

http://diythemes.com/thesis/web-design-results/

10 essential questions you should ask a website designer

http://www.ericspellmann.com/ten-essential-questions-to-ask-a-website-designer.html

Keys to building your first small business website

http://www.forbes.com/sites/allbusiness/2013/12/10/key-steps-to-building-your-small-business-website/

20 plus ways to build a website or presence

http://smallbiztrends.com/2013/06/20-ways-build-website-web-presence.html

I figured since I have experience with WordPress it would be easy to figure out designing a business website, it’s basically just a blog that’s static.  However, it turned out to be really freaking frustrating because you can do exactly what you want to your website because it’s a template.  After an hour of trying to get a picture in the background of my photo gallery removed I through in the towel.

This failure lead me to research web-design companies in our area.  Today we met with a local design company.  I asked all my questions.  The company uses WordPress….is that legal.  The guy said,”after we develop your website, it is completely yours.”  We can make changes and updates on our own, which is nice that’s something I really wanted.  BUT if they use WordPress, does that mean that our website is basic just a template that I could have created on my own to being with?

The pricing of this company is pretty cheap ($1100-$1200) in comparison to other companies.  The hosting is $35/month which you are required to be hosted by them for a full year.  I will do more research to see if this is a good idea.  I read that if a company is cheap, there’s probably a good reason.

I have 2 consultations tomorrow.  One of the companies I’m meeting tomorrow @ 10am has already told me the basic cost is $4500, that the website takes 45 hours to develop, so that means they’re $100/hour.  The other company I’m meeting with @ 2pm has employed one of my close friends and I’m really just going there to get as many options as possible.

There is so much that goes into getting a business off the ground.  Having a website, social media resources, and email marketing up and running would be such a load off our shoulders.  We want everything to be perfect, yet there is so much room for error, find the right people for the job is critical.

During our consultation today, the marketing associate gave us some great advice.  He mentioned that we should get involved in the Chamber of Commerce in our area, something I never even thought of!

One thought on “Website scouting

  1. It all sounds very exciting! God luck with starting your website and business I look forward to following your progress. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

