Location Roadblock

Locations

I have been contacting commercial realtors in our area for over 2 weeks.  Unfortunately, I have been unsuccessful in finding the right location for our operation.  Did you know that Craigslist is actually a terrific venue for commercial listings?  I had no clue, a realtor gave me the insight to check it out.  I have 4 realtors working to find us a location, yet I have found better locations on freaking Craigslist!  That site is genius!

I’m going to continue my search for the perfect location.  In the mean time, we have decided our best route for our business at this time is to start with catering.  It will be like tailgating, but on a larger scale and for people we don’t know.  There’s money in catering, but it’s a lot of work.  I feel like with this route we will completely lose our weekends, but that is the price I am willing to pay to get this show on the road.  The best part is we LOVE to entertain, which is exactly what catering will be but we’ll get payed to do it!

Test Run

Before we start we have a lot of kinks to work out, as does any business.  Before we take on a big gig, we need to practice on people who actually like us.  We’ve decided to have a party with free food, of course, and give out anonymous comment cards so our friends won’t feel like they’re hurting our feelings.  After we do this a few times with friends and family we can move on the outsiders.  To get our name out we’ve decided that it would be a great idea to host a party inviting business owners in our area that we believe would recommend us to their customers and clients.  The party will give us the opportunity to develop relationships and give them the opportunity to taste our products.  Brilliant right?

Marketing

Before we do any of this our top priority needs to be getting our virtual marketing readying to go.  We absolutely need to establish a website and a Facebook.  Both of which can be totally free.  Virtual marketing should be the #1 form of marketing for every small business because of the fact that it is totally free.  Why would anyone pass up free?

We will be investing in the services of a professional web-designer for our small business because we believe a great website will be our main marketing tool.  Over the next few weeks I will be collecting pricings and getting more information on what a graphic/web-designer can do for us.  I have no clue what the going rate is for this, I really need to do some research.  I will not be a person who is “taken to the cleaners” because heads will roll!  LOL

Anyway, we have some great ideas about what we want on our website and I can’t wait to get that rolling.  I think it will be great.  There’s going to be pictures and videos and cajun music in the background.  I’m so excited!  Did I ever mention that my husband plays the cajun accordion?  He had one custom made, it’s beautiful with a crawfish on it.  That’s pretty unique, not many people can say they play or even know a person who plays…I’m so lucky 😉

Leave a Reply

