What up wit dat?

This morning I woke up at 7am, as usual, walked Roux, did some Pilates, then turned on the Tele.  Flipping through the channels of nothingness I discovered that ABC Family was playing one of my favorite movie, Pretty Woman!  As I was watching I started to think about this channel and what it’s targeted viewers are, children and families.  That got me thinking, “what on earth were they thinking?”

pretty woman

The basic premise of Pretty Woman is that a girl with nothing could win the heart of a man with everything….using what as bait? her winning personality!  Hmmm I don’t think so.  Despite being a good love story, arguably, you really can’t get around the fact that she is being payed for sex.  OH it’s just so sweet that he’s taking her under his wing and rescuing her from a life on the street, but it doesn’t start out that way.  He is still paying this quirky hooker for intercourse and what not, I mean what the hell is going on when she put I Love Lucy on mute?  Maybe this channel is trying to get young girls to look and the life Vivian had before she met Edward and decide to never venture down that path.  Or maybe it’s to help them see that they should  never chase a boy, learn how to make the boy chase after you.  Or to be yourself to get someone to fall in love with the real you.

Don’t get me wrong, I love this movie but I do not think it should ever be on the ABC Family play list.  End of story.

I am totally looking for word to the ABC Family 25 Days of Christmas!

Leave a Reply

